Community Services Commission

Community Services Commission

Meeting Information

Community Services Commission meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m.

City Council Chamber
1424 Mission Street
South Pasadena, CA 91030

Commission Meeting Videos

Purpose, Membership, and Terms

The Community Services Commission is a seven member body that act in advisory capacity to the City Council in all matters pertaining to activities promoting the health, interests and well-being of the City's senior citizen and youth populations, and all matters pertaining to parks and public recreation; recommends policies for the control, management, and use of Community Services facilities; recommends the acquisition, use, and relinquishment of Community Services facilities; advise the City Council on development of recreation areas, facilities, programs, and improved recreation services; recommends the adoption of standards on organizations, personnel, areas and facilities, program and financial support; and takes periodic inventories of recreation services that exist or may be needed and interprets the need of the public to the City Council and Community Services Director. Qualification for serving on the commission consist of being a resident elector (registered voter) of the city. Members are appointed to a three-year term, with a maximum length of service of two full consecutive terms, plus one partial term (if applicable).

Commission Members

  • Gabriel Vogel, Chair (Term ends 12/31/2024)
  • Bryan Samuels, Vice-Chair (Term ends 12/31/2024)
  • Leslie Albe Field, Commissioner (Term ends 12/31/2026)
  • Lela Bissner, Commissioner (Term ends 12/31/2024)
  • Anthony W. Lai, Commissioner (Term ends 12/31/2026)
  • Mackenzie Z. Moore, Commissioner (Term ends 12/31/2026)
  • Stephen L. Plotkin, Commissioner (Term ends 12/31/2026)
  • City Council Liaison, Jack Donovan, Mayor Pro Tem

Staff Liaison
Sheila Pautsch, Community Services Director
(626) 403-7362

Agendas & Minutes

(C) = Cancelled
(R) = Rescheduled
(SM) = Special Meeting